A New Beginning…

Hello fellow readers, J. Morphyne here with a brand new web log site.  I know what you’re thinking and I’ll address the immediate question of why I would begin a new site when I have issues updating my old site.  Well, the answer is quite simple and it has a lot to do with personal things in my life that I’m just eager to share.

First and foremost, I enjoyed writing my old web logs.  At times they were fun, therapeutic, comforting, hilarious, or all of the above.  It was a great outlet for me to get things out that I just couldn’t bounce off the people in my life.  Plus, on top of all that, it was a great place to put my own spin…or more accurately spin things in my own life to proportions greater than what they actually were.  As most of you may have noticed, though, my posts became more and more infrequent.  It wasn’t because I was leading a disinteresting life, but it was because most of things I could write about, I was already writing.  Namely, “Zero” became my writing life and I just didn’t feel like sharing what I was writing when the art wasn’t done therefore it wasn’t a finished project.  Hopefully some day it will be but right now all my creative energy is on “Zero” and nothing else…well, except for a few side projects.

Reason number 2 for the new site.  Over the last year and a half a weird thing has happened.  One of my biggest interests in life has turned into sort of a…side business.  A business of information if you will.  See, when I’m not writing…or slaying…I’m playing video games.  I tell most people that I play games the way most people read books or put together scrapbooks.  It’s more than just a hobby for me, it’s another passion of mine.  People in my life have figured this out and I know routinely shell out advice to parents at work who don’t know what games to get their 7 yr old, or to friends who want my thoughts on what I really think about game purchases they’re thinking about making.  Basically, I quickly found myself, usually after weekends, sending out numerous emails or making numerous phone calls to said coworkers or friends and giving my advice of what I think is good, what I think is bad, and why.  This is the reason for the site.

So the next answers I’ll give you is what to expect from this site….or more specifically you’ll know what not to expect from my site.  You see, I’m what I call a true hardcore gamer.  There isn’t a system I don’t either own or have played.  I know the good, the bad, and the ugly of every system.  I realize every system has their set of pros and cons.  I don’t judge a system on graphical limitations, archaic control schemes, or the audiences that play them.  I play systems for good…scratch that…great games.

You see, too many game sites don’t offer any sort of information regarding the games or systems they review.  The review game has turned into a lot of self promotion and how many shots can I take at other systems while telling you nothing about why you should get a certain game and it’s as annoying as flicking your tooth with your tongue until it’s raw but you just can’t stop.  I just don’t understand how reviewers and players alike can label themselves hardcore when all they seem to do is debate who is winning a console war.  Seriously, WHO CARES!?  Nintendo, Sony, and Microsoft will all survive, always survive and to them there is no console war so shut up and just review the damn game.  Oops…sorry about the tirade.

Anyways, what I’m trying to get it is hopefully my reviews come across as unbiased, all encompassing, and enjoyable enough to come back and read again.  With that I’ll finish with my own personal rules in reviewing that I will hold myself to.  If I break these, I will add a dollar to my rule breaking jar and when I save up enough, maybe I’ll start a real site!  Oh yeah, and a few of my friends may also contribute at times so be on the look out for that!

Rules-
1.  I will never compare games across platforms.  A game should only be reviewed based on its performance for the platform intended.  For example, I will never compare Call of Duty: World at War on the Wii against the 360 version.  They are two drastically different systems that offer drastically different experiences.  Comparing the two against each other is an injustice.  It’s like saying Halloween is a garbage movie because it’s not Citizen Kane.

2.  My personal feelings towards a system will never enter my reviews.  I’m not gonna lie, there is one system in particular that I can’t stand but still has good games.  Therefore, I will review games on that console with an unbiased attitude and will never mention how shallow the game options are for that system (for those that think I’m talking about the Wii, you’re wrong).

3.  I’ll try to post more timely than I did with my last web log.

4.  Each post will contain a review of a modern game and one retro game review.

5.  I will try to cover all genres.  Some genres may be represented because, well, I have a full time job and RPG’s are very time intensive.  They almost require a person to have either no life or only a part time job to complete.

6.  I will never, NEVER turn down a donation to review a certain game.  As TLC said, I ain’t too proud to beg.

7.  I’ll rarely take recommendations on what to review.  This site is mostly for my take on games so even though I’ll cover all genres because they all have their pluses, there are some games that I just won’t bring myself to buy and play because some games are water torture.

8.  Now, I will never bash a system, but I will bash franchises.  I’m telling you right now, based on my game playing experience, GTA will get no love from me.  I’m sure when it comes time for me to review China Wars, this will become clear unless China Wars somehow morphs the GTA series into the best DS series ever…I doubt it.

So that’s about it.  My first real review will be going up in a few days and I’m going to cover Call of Duty: World at War for the Wii (because it’s getting no love) and the retro game review will be the original Castlevania.

PS:To those are asking what the hell is “Bitties” well, it’s my gamer tag that I use most often.  Whether I use it for online play, naming characters in game, or just naming profiles Bitties is it.  Always has been, always will be, and if you ever encounter other Bitties, they’re just posers.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

